logo
location

Location

logo
logo

Find us on

Facebook

logo
logo

Contact

Julie Elmhirst

Phone : +44 (0)1226 282430

Fax : +44 (0)1226 282430

E-mail : julieelmhirst@hotmail.com

logo

About Delf Cottage

Delf Cottage is a cosy three bed roomed house with a large open plan sitting room, hall and fully equipped Kitchen. It has Oil central heating and a wood burning stove.

Large Gardens to the side and front also easy access to the Trans Pennine trail for walking or cycling. A heated outdoor swimming Pool is available during the summer months. Although it is situated on a quiet country road there is also off road parking.

Delf Cottage was built for Farm workers in1933 its modernist design originates from Swiss American architect William Lescaze who at that time was working on similar styles of building at Dartington Hall in Devon.

Lescaze's assistant at that time was Robert Hening MBE. Hening designed the three cottages specifically for housing farm workers. It was quite revolutionary at the time having a toilet and bath with running water inside the house.

Most workers at that time lived with an outside toilet or earth closet and Tin bath. The other two cottages have now been converted into one House were we have lived for 15 years.

The name Delf (sometimes spelt delph) comes from Old English, that which is Delved or Dug which we assume describes the area around the Cottage which was quarried in the early 1800s for Coal and Sandstone. Delft in Holland was formally named Delf after its chief Canal, known as a Delf or Delve meaning ditch.